The General Assembly of the Medical Women’s International Association (MWIA) convened in Taipei, Taiwan from June 24 to June 26, 2022 in line with the 32nd MWIA International Congress, approved the renewed composition of its Executive Committee for the 2022-2025 Triennium.

Dr. Eleanor Nwadinobi who has led the organization from 2019 will start her new 3-year tenure as the President of the Medical Women’s International Association. Dr. Nwadinobi is the first Nigerian to attain this position in over 100 years of MWIA history. Dr. Nwadinobi is a renowned development practitioner and public speaker on health, women peace and security, prevention of violence against women and girls, and human rights. Dr. Amany Asfour, the President of Egypt’s Business and Professional Women, the African Alliance for Women Empowerment and the Afro-Arab Network for Women Empowerment was elected with the majority of votes as President Elect of the organization. Dr. Asfour is a medical doctor and entrepreneur who has contributed immensely to the empowerment of women in business. Dr. Mariam Jashi, Board Member of the UNITE Parliamentarians Network for Global Health, Advisory Board Chair of Tbilisi Medical Academy, former Member of Parliament of Georgia, Deputy Health Minister and President of the global Leading Group on Innovative Financing was elected un-opposed as the new Secretary General. Dr. Jashi brings 25 years of experience across 26 countries, including 11 years of work with UNICEF health programmes. Dr. Eliza Lo Chin, Executive Director and Past President of the American Medical Women’s Association was elected as the MWIA Treasurer.  Dr. Chin is an internal medicine physician with over 23 years of experiences in the medical field. She is the editor of the book This Side of Doctoring: Reflections from Women in Medicine published in 2002, that compiled narratives from female medical professionals. MWIA’s work in 8 geographic regions will be coordinated by the following Regional Vice-Presidents:
Position Name Country
Vice President for Northern Europe Dr. Elizabeth Lorraine-Lichtenstein Sweden
Vice-President for Central Europe Dr. Edith Schratzberger-Vécsei Austria
Vice President for Southern Europe Dr. Concetta Laurentaci Italy
Vice-President for North America Dr. Connie Newman USA
Vice-President for Latin America Dr. Nelci Zanon Collange Brazil
Vice-President for Near East and Africa Dr. Claribel Abam Nigeria
Vice-President for Central Asia Dr. Darunee Buddhari Thailand
Vice-President for Western Pacific Dr. Bong Ok Kim Republic of Korea

Special Acknowledgments for Taiwan Medical Women’s Association

President Eleanor Nwadinobi and the new members of MWIA Executive Committee express special gratitude to the Taiwan Medical Women’s Association and the Local Organizing Committee for the outstanding organization of the 32nd International Congress of MWIA and the General Assembly in Taipei. Despite the ongoing COVID-19 related challenges, the MWIA International Congress in Taiwan witnessed high-level representation, engagement of distinguished speakers, medical professionals and scientists from around the world.

About MWIA

The Medical Women’s International Association is a non-governmental organization founded in 1919 with the purpose of representing female physicians worldwide. Dr. Esther Lovejoy was the first President of the organization. As of 2022, MWIA memberships includes over 12,000 female medical doctors from all geographic regions, representing National Associations of MWIA or individual members. For more information, please visit Signed

Dr. Eleanor Nwadinobi

Dr. Mariam Jashi
Secretary General